top of page
  • MPC 400 Community Media II

The 2024 Ollies Recap

OLIVET, MICHIGAN –The University of Olivet’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) held its annual Ollies awards presentation on Sunday, Feb. 25 inside the Cutler Student Center. The Ollies have become a tradition here on campus; the Ollies have been around since 2014 and give a chance for student-athletes and other co-curricular participants to receive recognition for all they have done from the 2023 calendar year. 

Morgan Dillon received the Female Leadership Award as well as participated on the Women's Volleyball team that was awarded the Defeating the Odds Award. “Winning the defeating the odds award with my team was really big, I'm so grateful we were able to work together and receive this award,” Dillon said “I can only thank my team. They've allowed me to do all of my leadership on campus and outside of the court. I'm so grateful for my team. I couldn't have done this without them and my coaches.”

Doug Carter received the Coach of the Year award for the men's and women's Soccer teams. “I have been here 5 years now and it's the first award I got, I am absolutely thrilled. I thank my teams… they show up every day and the way they stuck together even in the adversity this year, I think they did fantastically well,” Carter said.

These are just a couple of the award recipients on the night. There were hundreds of talented individuals and teams in attendance but only some could walk away with an Ollie.

Here is a detailed list of winners:

Male Rookie of the Year - Bryan Carney - Baseball

Female Rookie of the Year - Jaydn Cary - Women’s Volleyball

Win of The Year - Men’s Basketball vs. Albion College

Moment of Truth - Djimo Kouyate - Men’s Soccer

Defeating the Odds - Men’s Team - Men’s Soccer vs. Trine University

Defeating the Odds - Women’s Team - Women’s Volleyball

Male Athlete of The Year - Jordon Brown - Men’s Track and Field    

Female Athlete of The Year - Lily Connelly - Women’s Basketball

Team Community Service - Baseball

Non-NCAA Athlete of The Year - Lilyan Pastor - Stunt

Male Leadership Award - SirQuarius Ball - Football

Female Leadership Award - Morgan Dillon - Women’s Volleyball

Unbreakable Team - Men’s Cross Country/Track and Field and Women’s Cross Country/Track and Field

Band Member of The Year - Everett Haynes

Staff Member of The Year - Joey Shepherd

Coach of The Year - Doug Carter - Men’s and Women’s Soccer


Photos and Interviews by Ella Gaffke

Award Winners Via - Madison Johnson

Written by Nate Lehman


bottom of page